President's Crime Prevention Council

When President Clinton signed into law the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 on September 13, 1994, he designated the Vice President as Chair of the Act's Crime Prevention Council. He also designated Carol Rasco, Assistant to the President for Domestic Policy, as Vice Chair of the Council. Other members of the Council include the Attorney General, the Secretary of Education, the Secretary of Health and Human Services, the Secretary of housing and Urban Development, the Secretary of Labor, the Secretary of Agriculture, the Secretary of Treasury, the Secretary of Interior, the Director of the Office of National Drug Policy, and the Director of the Office of management and Budget.

The mandate of the Council is to coordinate, integrate, and streamline the various crime prevention programs throughout the Executive branch as well as to further the development of additional effective approaches to crime prevention. Specifically, the Act requires the Council to coordinate crime prevention planning; create a comprehensive crime prevention program catalogue; assist communities and community based organizations seeking information and grant simplification. The Council is also authorized to make grants for summer and after-school educational recreational programs; mentoring and tutoring initiatives; programs designed to assist and promote employability and job placement; and substance abuse, child abuse and teenage pregnancy efforts.

graphical representation of this page.
return to the main page