Vice President's Office

[Vice President's Office]

The Office of the Secretary of the Navy was restored in 1987, and included both restoration and replication of the ornate stencilled walls. All Vice Presidents since Lyndon Johnson, with the exception of Hubert Humphrey, have occupied this office.

[Navy Office]

Sixteen Secretaries of the Navy occupied this office in the building from 1879 until 1921. General John Pershing moved in after the Navy Secretary moved out.

[President Roosevelt]

Theodore Roosevelt served as Assistant Secretary of the Navy under John D. Long prior to the Spanish-American War. Franklin D. Roosevelt also occupied this office as Assistant Secretary of the Navy during World War I.

Exit Room to Northwest Dome.

Return to corridor.

[Clickable Image]